ataköy escort mersin escort eskisehir escort kayseri escort gaziantep escort
Feed on
Posts
Comments

Writing Alchemy Bonus Cast 9 Summary

Today I’m sharing some tools I have been using that have been extremely helpful for dealing with anxiety. I’ll also be giving an update on what is going on for me, and I’ll wrap up by sharing some of the projects I’ve been working on.

The goal of this tool set is to help a person’s nervous system connect to the present moment. The way I understand it is that when people are upset, their mind is usually focusing on the past or the future. Helping the nervous system connect to the present helps it calm down. I find that these tools are helpful during stressful moments, but they can also can be used at other times to increase calm and relaxation. For example, I often use them to help myself get sleepy at bedtime.

Content warnings are listed at the bottom of these show notes.

Photograph of a silver and black desktop microphone sitting on a white surface with its black cord trailing off to the left.

Photograph of a silver and black desktop microphone sitting on a white surface with its black cord trailing off to the left.

 

Bonus Cast 9 Transcript

In order to make these transcripts as accessible as possible, each one is produced in four formats: as an online post for access convenience, in a word document with a low vision friendly font (Veranda), in a pdf with a dyslexia friendly font (OpenDyslexic), and a low contrast blue on black pdf as an access option for people with migraines (Veranda).

 

Show Notes

Anxiety Tools
Anxiety Tools Page: https://writingalchemy.net/resources/anxiety-tools/
Anxiety Tools – Orienting: https://writingalchemy.net/2020/08/31/anxiety-tools-orienting/

Support Writing Alchemy
You can become my patron on my Patreon page: https://www.patreon.com/WritingAlchemy
Kofi donation: http://ko-fi.com/S6S4BFL0
TeePublic Store: https://www.teepublic.com/stores/writing-alchemy?ref_id=8162

Follow Writing Alchemy
Twitter: https://twitter.com/@writing_alchemy
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WritingAlchemy/
Website: https://writingalchemy.net
Writing Alchemy Mailing List: https://writingalchemy.net/mailing-list/

Hiring an Audio Editor in Early November
Details: https://twitter.com/writing_alchemy/status/1310567346122047488

Project Links
Decolonizing Games Resource List: https://writingalchemy.net/resources/decolonizing-games-resource-list/
Disability Q & A Series: https://writingalchemy.net/resources/writing-advice/
Magic Goes Awry Beta: https://writingalchemy.net/magic-goes-awry/
Premade Characters: https://writingalchemy.net/magic-goes-awry/premade-characters/
Jessica Kuczynski: http://www.jessicakuczynski.com/
Into the Research Garden Adventure: https://writingalchemy.net/crossroads-overview/into-the-research-garden/
Crossroads Plants: https://writingalchemy.net/crossroads-overview/crossroads-plants/

Contact Fay
Writing Alchemy Contact Form: https://writingalchemy.net/about/contact-form/

Music and Sound Credits
Intro: Mellowtron (Kevin MacLeod) / CC BY 3.0
Transition and outro: Poofy Reel (Kevin MacLeod) / CC BY 3.0

Content Warnings
Mental health struggles. Anxiety. Depression. Panic attacks. Harmful medical professional.

 

2 Responses to “Bonus Cast 9 – Anxiety Tools: Orienting”

  1. Nestling says:

    The way you present these tools is extremely helpful! I’ve been in therapy since forever, and have been taught about similar exercises to these ones, but I’ve never had them explained to me like this. Maybe it’s your personal experience added to the theoretical knowledge or the nuance with which you explain the situations in which an exercise is useful to you, I’m not sure. But thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply to Nestling